The distinctive village Hranovnica is located in a fold of the river Hornád – in the northwestern tip of the national park Slovenský raj (Slovak Paradise). The village administratively belongs to Prešov self-autonomous region within Slovak republic. Including two urban districts – Hranovnické Pleso and Dubina, there have lived 3145 inhabitants at the end of the year 2018.
The title of village is likely derived from its position and it indicated the border between regions Gemer and Spiš. Historical survived titles are: Granich (1294-1320), Greniz, Grenic (1321-1328), Grenicz (1423), Hranowycza (1598), Hranowcze (1773) and from 1786 is stable formed to contemporary title Hranownicza (Hranovnica). The village was presented as villa Granich in latin, Grencz in german, Grénic, Veghély or Szépesveghely in hungarian.
Present coat-of-arms of the village proceed from the year 1502. It has resemblance of the red shield in which golden-haired Saint Barbara in a silver dress is situated. She is veiled by a golden coat and in the right aligned hand she carries a silver three-window tower. Likewise by the left hand she holds a golden book in front of the chest, and in the each side of her hips, there is one large golden star.
The first written mention about the village comes from 1294, but it‘s presumable that it existed earlier. In the Middle Ages, Hranovnica was the mining townlet with a unique brewery, a saw-mill and a mill. The interest for mining considerably increased in the 16th century, due to the initiative of family Thurzov, which moreover supported the copper trade. During this period Hranovnica began the main economic village among all neigbourhood villages. That’s why it held the unique privileges and there occured the copper store – Kupferhaus. Originally the most spread employment was the agriculture, together with beekeeping and fishing. The famous blueprint workroom was founded in 1824. The blueprint operation was served untill 1975. Nowdays, the municipality is establishing a local museum oriented on the production of a blueprint in these historical places. In 1858 a saw-mill was built in area Hámre, but in 1875 it was displaced below Dubina. During the 2nd World War it was destroyed and its operation hasn’t been recovered yet.
Present village population is mostly of the Roman Catholic denomination. Authentic late Romanesque church was rebuilt in the Gothic style in the 14th century, then it was modified to the baroque and classicist style from the 17th century till 19th century. The Protestant Church is represented by the minority, its church is dated back to year 1837 and its interior is garnished by the late baroque altar. Several organizations and associations are active in the village e.g. Voluntary Fire Force, Slovak union of breeders, The Red Cross, The Association of anti-fascist warriors, Church choir, folk ensemble Lúčka and many others. The most favorite sport is football (FC Hranovnica) and among the recreational and competitive games a chess is leading.
Village is interesting for tourists mainly due to its locality, as it is situated at the crossroad of three national parks – The Slovak Paradise and The High and Low Tatras.